Parade Route

The National Day of Honour parade began at 12:30 p.m. on May 9 adjacent to the War Museum in Ottawa, and proceeded along Wellington Street to Parliament Hill. The Parade included 300 Canadian Armed Forces personnel, 32 RCMP and local police, and 50 civilians who deployed as part of the mission in Afghanistan.

They were joined at Bank and Wellington streets by a contingent of non serving Veterans of the mission to Afghanistan. The parade was accompanied by the Central Band of the Canadian Armed Forces, the regimental band of the Royal 22e Régiment, the RCMP Pipes and Drums and the Correctional Service Canada Community Service Band.

The parade arrived on Parliament Hill and was received by the Governor General of Canada at 1:00 p.m., where there was a vice regal inspection of the parade along with a 21 gun salute.

Following the parade, a single gun shot signalled two minutes of national silence at 1:30 p.m. EDT to reflect upon the sacrifices made during the mission.